In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Scientific committees

Heart Failure Congress

The Heart Failure Association of the ESC wish to acknowledge all of the experts who make their contributions to Heart Failure 2018 & World Congress on Acute Heart Failure


Board of the Heart Failure Association of the ESC (2016-2018)

  • Frank Ruschitzka (CH), President
  • Petar Seferovic (RS), President-Elect
  • Gerasimos Filippatos (GR), Immediate Past-President
  • Massimo Piepoli (IT), Chairperson of the Clinical Section
  • Rudolf De Boer (NL), Chairperson of the Basic Science Section
  • Mitja Lainscak (SL), Coordinator for National HF Societies & Working Groups, Heart Failure 2018 Congress Chairperson
  • Marisa Crespo-Leiro (ES), Secretary
  • Andrew Coats (UK), Treasurer

Clinical section

  • Yuri Lopatin (RU)
  • Veli-Pekka Harjola (FI)
  • Lars Lund (SE)
  • Giuseppe Rosano (IT)
  • Davor Milicic (HR)
  • Jelena Celutkiene (LT)
  • Ewa Jankowska (PL)
  • Christian Mueller (CH)
  • Loreena Hill (UK)

Basic Science Section

  • Johann Bauersachs (DE)
  • Johannes Backs (DE)
  • Alexander Lyon (UK)


  • Marco Metra (IT)
  • Alexandre Mebazaa (FR)
  • Stefan Anker (DE)
  • Stephane Heymans (NL)
  • Piotr Ponikowski (PL)

Local organising committee

  • Rudolf Berger (AT)
  • Christoph Birner (DE)
  • Eva Goncalvesova (SK)
  • Tamas Habon (HU)
  • Christian Hengstenberg (AT)
  • Martin Hülsmann (AT)
  • Micha Maeder (CH)
  • Deddo Moertl (AT)
  • Raphael Rosenhek (AT)
  • Jindrich Spinar (CZ)
  • Lenka Spinarova (CZ)