In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

Honorary lectures

World class lectures from world renowned experts

As is now tradition during the EHRA EUROPACE-CARDIOSTIM congress we pay homage to a select few colleagues from within our community by asking them to participate in the congress by delivering a specific lecture.


This year's Honorary Lecturers are:

Melvin Scheinman - Intercontinental Lecture

Title; Newer diagnostic and treatment options for patients with Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular dysplasia

Honorary Lectures session on Sunday 21 June at 14:00 in romm MILANO

Dr. Scheinman has had a long interest in studying the mechanisms of tachycardia with a view to development of ablative cures. He was first to perform catheter ablation in man and is currently director of the Genetic Arrhythmia Program at the University of California, San Francisco. He was recently awarded the ACC (2014) Outstanding Scientist Award.

Günter Breithardt - Einthoven Lecture

Title: Atrial fibrillation – from mechanisms to improved care

Honorary Lectures session on Sunday 21 June at 14:00 in romm MILANO
Günter Breithardt graduated from the Medical Schools of the Universities of Tübingen, Vienna and Düsseldorf. After a tenure professorship at the University of Düsseldorf, he became Professor of Medicine and Cardiology at the University of Münster where he was Head of the Department of Cardiology and Angiology from 1988 to 2009 and also Head of the Department of Molecular Cardiology at the Leibniz-Institute for Arteriosclerosis Research from 1992 to 2009. As Emeritus, he is still actively involved in research.

Professor Breithardt was President of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) and of the German Cardiac Society. Within the ESC, he was Chairman of the Executive Scientific Committee, now the Congress Programme Committee, of the Committee for Scientific and Clinical Initiatives, now the Practice Guidelines Committee, and of other committees of the ESC. He was chairman of the Working Group on Arrhythmias of the ESC, one of the predecessors of EHRA. He is an honorary member of the Polish, French and the Norwegian Cardiac Societies, Fellow of ESC, ACC, and HRS as well as member of EHRA. He has received the Edens-Award from the University of Düsseldorf, and the Arthur-Weber-Award from the German Cardiac Society for his long-term research, as well as the Carl-Ludwig Honorary Medal of the German Cardiac Society, the highest recognition of this society.

Jean-Claude Daubert - Pioneer in clinical Electrophysiology Lecture

Title: Cardiac pacing: more than 50 years of conceptual and technological breakthroughs

Awards and Closing Ceremony on Wednesday 24 June at 12:45 in room NAPOLI

Claude Daubert, born in 1948, professor emeritus at the Rennes 1 University, France. Honorary president of the French Society of Cardiology. President of the French National Council of Universities (cardio-thoracic sections). Main fields of interest: cardiac pacing, arrhythmia, heart failure. Participating in conceiving, validating (proof of concept) and developping Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy for heart failure. Chair or co-chair of landmarks studies in CRT: MUSTIC, CARE HF, REVERSE... Chair of the EHRA/HRS Expert Consensus Statement on Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy (CRT) in Heart failure (2012). Author of more than 300 original papers published in peer-review journals.