European Society of Cardiology
Skip navigation links
About the ESC
Guidelines & Surveys
Welcome to the European Society of Cardiology. Our mission: to reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease in Europe

Invitation Letter and Visa Requirements

Heart Failure 2011

Several factors determine whether a visa is waived...

The European territory of Sweden is part of the Schengen Area. The Schengen Area includes the territory of the following European Union countries and associated countries: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

A short stay is a stay in the Schengen area under 90 days or multiple stays totalling less than 90 days in a period of six months.

Invitation Letter

You may download a customised invitation letter for visa purposes here

Such an invitation is intended to help potential delegates raise travel funds or obtain a visa. Please note, however, this does not bind the ESC to provide financial support.
Please check with your local embassy what documents are needed to obtain a visa for Sweden.

Visa requirements

For short stays, European regulations determine the list of countries from which citizens are not required to have a visa to enter the Schengen area.

A visa is waived for:

  • Citizens of the following countries: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela
  • Holders of passports from: the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China and the Special Administrative Region of Macao of the People’s Republic of China.
  • Holders of a valid residence document in Sweden.
  • Holders of a residence document issued by a country which adheres to the Schengen Agreement.
  • Holders of a travel document issued by a country which adheres to the Schengen Agreement.

More information can be found on the Web Site of Swedish Foreign Affairs.