In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more


Structure of the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Science

 Jeremy Pearson
 CBCS Chairperson



The Council is composed of representatives from the ESC "basic" Working Groups and from non-ESC "basic" sister organisations. It is led by a nucleus comprised of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Past-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer (see below).
The strategy of the Council is determined by the Strategy Group.


Ex-Officio Members

  • Rudolf de Boer (Netherlands), position : HFA Liaison organisation : Heart Failure Association (ESC)
  • Karin R. Sipido (Belgium), position: EU Relations & Editor in Chief of Cardiovascular Research
  • Wolfram-Hubertus Zimmermann (Germany), position : AHA Liaison organisation : Liaison Officer with AHA Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences

* WG: Working Group

Contact the Council by email